by Red Leaves

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £4 GBP  or more




Kaleidoscope was the result of Simon buying a four-track and the band borrowing as much recording equipment as they could get their hands on during six frantic days in the summer of 1996. A house was obtained and parents dispatched and most rules of audio engineering were ignored or unknown (mostly unknown). This is the result.


released March 31, 2003

1. Come And See Us (words by C Gates; music by C Gates/S J Nelson)
2. People Of The Sun (words and music by S J Nelson)
3. Open Up Your Eyes (words by C Gates; music by C Gates/S J Nelson)
4. Suicidal People (words and music by W Harris)
5. Will You Remember? (words and music by S J Nelson)
6. Sweet Suburban Rain (words by C Gates; music by C Gates/S J Nelson)
7. End Of The Day (words and music by S J Nelson)
8. Guardian Angel (words and music by W Harris)
9. Chameleon Was A Spy (words and music by C Gates/S J Nelson)
10. Everybody (words by C Gates; music by C Gates/S J Nelson)

Charles Gates: Vocals, drums, funny bongo, keyboard, percussion, sound collage, spectrum noise, tambourine
William Harris: Vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, wind noise
Simon Nelson: Vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, computer bleeps, drum machine, electric guitars, keyboard, laoud, tambourine
assisted by Kathy Matthews: Viola (on track 5), violin (on track 10)

Recorded at Canberra House, Meonstoke on September 11th-16th 1996.
All tracks produced and engineered by the band (but mostly by Simon).
Remixed and remastered for Tbilissi Recordings by Sunset Yellow and Rob McClymont at the Sonic Bunker, Hackney in 2003.

Many, many thanks to Mike Gilbert for the lend of lots of stuff; Bill, Beth and James for the use and disruption of their lovely house as we turned it into a studio; and the bloke who lost the original DAT of the album (so we had a great excuse to remix it). Also thanks to all our families and the people and places who inspired these songs (they know who they are).



all rights reserved


Red Leaves Hampshire, UK

Red Leaves were formed by three schoolfriends Charlie Gates, Will Harris and Simon Nelson in Hampshire, UK in 1993. They played a few gigs and recorded sporadically until Simon bought a four-track. The band then recorded the ten-track album Kaleidoscope in six days at Will’s parents house. Subsequently Simon has gone on to be in such bands as Hedz Jellmo, Vermont, Brother Francisco and Cosines. ... more

contact / help

Contact Red Leaves

Streaming and
Download help